Thursday, June 5, 2014

Have Some Sense Will Ya?

   I really didn't want to write a piece about this because I REALLY hoped that people would have some sense. I really wanted to believe that they would see how crazy they look and cease and desist the idiocy...but they didn't. If anything it has gotten worse. I am sure you would like to know what I am talking about, right? 

   I am talking about the recent rash of people taking SEMI-AUTOMATIC RIFLES into places like Chipotle and Target to assert their Second Amendment rights and scare the crap out of their neighbors. Not only do I think that this is quite possibly the stupidest thing I have ever heard of, but it is also the SCARIEST thing I have ever heard of. 
Gun Rights Enthusiasts at the Target...
   So let me explain what has been going on if you haven't heard. The past few months have seen a rash of 'protests' and 'demonstrations' where people show up to places like Chipotle (this was when I first heard about it) and Target (just found out about this) with the BIGGEST gun they own, normally a semi-automatic rifle or a shotgun, and go in and act like it's completely normal to have something that deadly strapped to their back. People's reaction to these people walking in has been what one would expect, panic and confusion. Normally, when someone walks in with a gun things are about to suck really bad for you. When asked to leave in some cases these people have put up a fuss, but never pulled their gun on anyone (thank GOD). Though someone did leave a LOADED HANDGUN IN THE TOY SECTION at a Target in South Carolina.

   My first question is: How do they NOT see how insane this makes them look? How do you sit there and think 'you know what I'm going to take my gun with me to the Target and it's going to be awesome. No one will freak out at all.'?

   My second question is: WHY THE HELL DO YOU NEED A SEMI-AUTOMATIC RIFLE OR SHOTGUN AT THE STORE? Why? Are there guerilla soldiers hiding in the cosmetics department? Are there deer foraging in the juniors' clothes section? NO, there are not. So why in the hell do you need it?

   So maybe you do think that no one will freak out or that there are guerilla soldiers hiding in cosmetics, let me explain what is going through the mind of every employee and every unarmed customer in the store you are at though. 

*Spots Giant Gun on person's back as they walk in the store*
"Oh God. They are going to shoot everyone. Oh God. I'm going to die today."
*Likely followed with a lot of screaming and running*

   First and foremost, you will look crazy and like you are about to be the next mass shooter.
   Second, when people catch on to what you are actually doing, you look like an idiot.
   Finally, it hurts your cause more than helps it.

   I get it. You like your guns and you want to keep them. Guess what. No one is coming to take them away from you. I am from the South. I know how much people love their guns. I do not quite understand it, but hey, as long as you only use them for hunting, self defense, and target practice at a shooting range I am pretty okay with it. But when you bring your gun to a Target or a Chipotle be prepared for me to not support your right to carry it there because you are putting other people's rights in danger now and I will not stand for that.

   So have some sense. Don't look like the next mass murderer. (Especially since even the NRA has condemned these demonstrations. I mean, come on.) Also, take a look at these stats and tell me that the US does not need even a little more regulation of gun trade.



No comments:

Post a Comment